Washington state banks nearly $100,000 on new distracted driving law in 28 days

Updated numbers from Washington state’s distracted driving law:

As of July 8, the Washington State Patrol has issued 736 citations for talking and 43 for texting behind the wheel. At $124 per ticket, that means the state has banked nearly $100,000 in 28 days.

The Patrol has issued 504 warnings for talking and 44 for texting since the new law went into effect, even though the Patrol touted a no grace period policy for the act, that has been a secondary offense for two years.